Skip to content

the new digs

October 26, 2011

Official new fresh start woo! I’ve been having a lot of those recently.. finishing college last May, starting my very first ‘real person’ job in June, moving in August, changing jobs in September, aaaaand moving again this past weekend. I think I’m ready for my life to settle a little before any more of these fresh starts in my life.

Here’s a bit of a highlight reel from the weekend move.

First my dad (who spoils me way too much whenever I need him for something like this, although I thoroughly appreciate it) drove 16 hours to come and help me out, so I wouldn’t have to hire movers. Not only that, but he also brought a whole cooler filled with beef jerky and cheese along with him. See? Like I said…spoiled. Like a good and responsible daughter, I had all my stuff packed up and shoved into one room in order to streamline the moving process.

Saturday morning started the madness. First and most importantly with a giant breakfast burrito in my stomach. Packing up the truck was relatively uneventful minus the usual struggling to get things down the stairs..and the fact that I have way more stuff than I did last time I moved…living room furniture is big. but between me, my dad, the bf, and Lo (WHY won’t you commute from FoCo?!) we got it done. And then we caravanned (yeah, that word just happened) up to the new place. Also relatively uneventful, except that there was a ton of traffic…some sort of college football team or something had a game or something..nothing anyone needs to be worried about.

After several reassurances that they liked it (I get nervous about these things) the unpacking commenced. it was all fine and good until we got to that giant living room junk. There’s this super narrow stairway with a 180 degree turn in it leading up to my front door [pictures on the way] that really complicates the whole getting big stuff up there thing. so between the 4 of us, we just beasted the big stuff up the balcony. i really with i had taken pictures of that, but i was a little occupied balancing a couch on a balcony. I was only slightly concerned that we were setting ourselves up to drop it a full story and kill all my stuff. but we didn’t!

And then..wahoo! New place: moved in. yeah, everything is sitting in a heap in one room and I can’t find anything, but whatever. Its getting there. And then it was Home Depot time! YEAH! love Home Depot! Obviously I dragged dad and the bf along (Lo had escaped back to Boulder by now), I’m sure they loved it. But first we stopped at Wally World for some internet stuff, and Kohls for nothing, it turns out.. and then I almost hit some little kids on bikes (it was dark! and they had no reflectors! and there was no stop sign!) and then we got all kinds of fun stuff. I’ll update you as I use it; it’s gonna be awesome. Then we watched the Badgers lost to Michigan State. I don’t want to talk about it.

Sunday morning dad left and finally made it home close to 4am his time (yikes… sorry dad. You’re the best!) and I went down to my old place to clean the stuff I couldn’t do while all my junk was still in there. After a Home Depot paint matching trip, some bleach/window scrubbing and extensive use of a vacuum and carpet cleaner, we were done woo! In my true fashion I couldn’t find my bike key..so the bike is temporarily abandoned, and I left soy milk in the fridge. But have no fear, we still have to go back before handing in the keys.

Overall, successful weekend. Thanks to all the people willing to give up their weekend to help me. Thank you 10 zillion times, couldn’t have done it without you guys. As stressful as moving is, you guys giving up your time and weekend to help me out was amazing. I like things that force me to depend on other people…I need to learn how to be better at that.

let the ‘making it my own’ commence…

” Two are better than one, because they have a good return for their labor: If either of them falls down, one can help the other up. But pity anyone who falls and has no one to help them up. Also, if two lie down together, they will keep warm. But how can one keep warm alone? Though one may be overpowered, two can defend themselves. A cord of three strands is not quickly broken.” Ecc. 4:9-12

2 Comments leave one →
  1. dad permalink
    November 2, 2011 10:04 pm

    It was well worth the drive, except for the badge loss. Besides I got to listen to 2 footbal games, broncos and amiami, and packers and somebody and a world series game so that took up about 10 hrs of the drive. Hope you find a place for everyhting, and glad to see the snow is early this year.

  2. Madge permalink
    November 5, 2011 3:25 am

    Who is amiami? Such a nice Dad . . .

Leave a Reply

